Awards and Honors

Hornets 30th Anniversary

Awards and Honors

Over their history, the Hornets have had a number of players recognized for their achievements. Seven players have represented Charlotte in the NBA All-Star Game, led by Glen Rice’s three appearances, including his 1997 All-Star Game MVP performance. Larry Johnson, Alonzo Mourning and Kemba Walker have been selected twice each, while Eddie Jones, Baron Davis and Gerald Wallace were each tabbed once.

Along with his franchise-best three All-Star selections, Rice is the only Hornets player to be named to multiple All-NBA Teams, earning Second Team honors in 1996-97 and Third Team in 1997-98. In 1996-97, he was joined on the All-NBA Second Team by Anthony Mason, who was also tabbed for the All-Defensive Second Team that season.

As he was in so many instances, Johnson was the first Hornets player to win an individual award when he was named Rookie of the Year in 1991-92, the first Hornets player to be an All-Star when he was selected a starter for the 1993 All-Star Game and the first Hornets player to earn All-NBA honors when he was selected to the Second Team in 1992-93.

NBA All-Stars

Larry Johnson Starter 1993
Alonzo Mourning (DNP) Reserve 1994
Larry Johnson Reserve 1995
Alonzo Mourning Reserve 1995
Glen Rice Reserve 1996
Glen Rice Reserve 1997
Glen Rice Reserve 1998
Eddie Jones Starter 2000
Baron Davis Reserve 2002
Gerald Wallace Reserve 2010
Kemba Walker Reserve 2017
Kemba Walker Reserve 2018

All-Star Game MVP

Glen Rice 1997

All-NBA Team

Larry Johnson Second Team 1992-93
Glen Rice Second Team 1996-97
Anthony Mason Second Team 1996-97
Glen Rice Third Team 1997-98
Eddie Jones Third Team 1999-2000
Al Jefferson Third Team 2013-14

All-Defensive Team

Anthony Mason Second Team 1996-97
Eddie Jones Second Team 1998-99
Eddie Jones Second Team 1999-2000
P.J. Brown Second Team 2000-01
Gerald Wallace First Team 2009-10

Sixth Man of the Year

Dell Curry 1993-94

Rookie of the Year

Larry Johnson 1991-92
Emeka Okafor 2004-05

All-Rookie Team

Rex Chapman Second Team 1988-89
J.R. Reid Second Team 1989-90
Kendall Gill First Team 1990-91
Larry Johnson First Team 1991-92
Alonzo Mourning First Team 1992-93
Emeka Okafor First Team 2004-05
Raymond Felton Second Team 2005-06
Walter Herrmann Second Team 2006-07
Adam Morrison Second Team 2006-07
D.J. Augustin Second Team 2008-09
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist Second Team 2012-13

Executive of the Year

Bob Bass 1996-97

Sportsmanship Award

Kemba Walker 2016-17
Kemba Walker 2017-18

Player of the Month

Glen Rice February 1997
Jamal Mashburn March 2002
Al Jefferson March 2014, April 2014

Coach of the Month

Dave Cowens April 1997
Paul Silas April 2000
Larry Brown January 2010
Steve Clifford April 2014
Steve Clifford March 2016

Rookie of the Month

Larry Johnson December 1991, February 1992, March 1992
Alonzo Mourning March 1993, April 1993
Emeka Okafor November 2004, December 2004, April 2005
Raymond Felton February 2006, March 2006, April 2006
Adam Morrison November 2006
Walter Herrmann April 2007
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist November 2012

Player of the Week

Larry Johnson Week ending March 22, 1992
Larry Johnson Week ending February 14, 1993
Alonzo Mourning Week ending April 18, 1993
Larry Johnson Week ending April 25, 1993
Larry Johnson Week ending January 15, 1995
Glen Rice Week ending January 5, 1997
Glen Rice Week ending February 2, 1997
Glen Rice Week ending December 14, 1997
Baron Davis Week ending November 26, 2000
Gerald Wallace Week ending November 28, 2005
Gerald Wallace Week ending March 25, 2007
Gerald Wallace Week ending April 8, 2007
Gerald Wallace Week ending January 20, 2008
Jason Richardson Week ending March 9, 2008
Jason Richardson Week ending March 30, 2008
Gerald Wallace Week ending November 29, 2009
Stephen Jackson Week ending January 17, 2010
Kemba Walker Week ending February 23, 2014
Al Jefferson Week ending March 16, 2014
Al Jefferson Week ending April 6, 2014
Kemba Walker Week ending January 12, 2015
Mo Williams Week ending March 9, 2015
Nicolas Batum Week ending November 15, 2016
Kemba Walker Week ending January 24, 2016
Kemba Walker Week ending March 13, 2016
Kemba Walker Week ending March 6, 2017

Rookie Game/Rookie Challenge/Rising Stars Challenge

George Zidek Rookie 1996
Baron Davis Sophomore 2001
Lee Nailon Sophomore 2002
Emeka Okafor (DNP) Rookie 2005
Emeka Okafor (DNP) Sophomore 2006
Raymond Felton Sophomore 2007
Adam Morrison Rookie 2007
Kemba Walker Team Shaq 2012
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist Team Shaq 2013
Kemba Walker Team Shaq 2013
Cody Zeller USA 2015
Frank Kaminsky USA 2017

Three-Point Shootout

Dell Curry Tied for fifth place 1992
Dell Curry Tied for sixth place 1994
Scott Burrell Third place 1995
Glen Rice Tied for sixth place 1996
Glen Rice Third place 1997
Glen Rice Tied for seventh place 1998
Kemba Walker Third place 2017

Slam Dunk Contest

Rex Chapman Sixth place 1990
Rex Chapman Third place 1991
Kendall Gill Eighth place 1991
Larry Johnson Second place 1992
Ricky Davis Fourth place 2000
Baron Davis Third place 2001
Gerald Wallace Tied for third place 2010

2Ball Competition

Glen Rice/Andrea Stinson Fifth place 1998
David Wesley/Dawn Staley Third place 2001